Home >> Festivals >> Short+Sweet Canberra 2016
20 Jul 2017 to 27 Aug 2017
10 Aug 2017 to 19 Aug 2017
Tuesday, August 9, 2016 to Saturday, August 20, 2016
Courtyard Studio, Canberra Theatre Centre
London Circuit
Canberra ACT 2600
Connect with this festival

Short+Sweet Canberra 2016

Short+Sweet is a 10 minute play festival. Thirty 10 minute plays are produced and performed by local performing artists over a two week run at the Canberra Theatre Centre. Short+Sweet has had a festival in Canberra every year since 2009, and this has grown to become a major event for the city’s artistic community. Each year over 100 people contribute to the festival, making this the largest annual collaboration of performing artists in the national capital.

As an open access festival, Short+Sweet Canberra brings together a broad range of artists. Professional performing artists work alongside talented enthusiasts, and artists with more experience and expertise in other artforms. And most importantly, it brings new audiences into the theatre as friends and family members of participants attend performances and recognise their own potential to participate.

Short+Sweet Canberra is at once local and eclectic. Plays are submitted from all over the world, and the festival director shortlists approximately half of the festival’s content from local writers, and half from interstate and overseas. Most actors and directors who participate come from Canberra, many travel from the capital region, and the festival has also welcomed actors and directors from Sydney and Melbourne.

The Short+Sweet family is committed to building a more creative world, 10 minutes at a time. The platform provides an accessible and enjoyable theatrical experience to individuals from all walks of life, and gives them the opportunity to connect with creatives from all over the world.


2016 Performance Dates

Top 20 Week 1: 9-12 August, 7:30pm daily

Wildcards: 13 August, 2:30pm and 7:30pm

Top 20 Week 2: 16-19 August, 7:30pm daily

Gala Final: 20 August, 2:30pm and 7:30pm


Social Media

Short+Sweet Canberra’s official hashtag is #shortsweetCBR.

You can also follow Short+Sweet Canberra on Instagram and Twitter. Our handle for both is @shortsweetCBR. Tag us whenever relevant, and share the love with your friends!

Our Facebook page can be found at https://www.facebook.com/ShortSweetCBR/. Like us to get updates on everything to do with Short+Sweet festivals in Canberra. 



The results are in, and it's a bit of a landslide!

Carl J. Sorheim's play, It's All The Rage, took home four of our six awards last night, and they were well deserved!

The play won the People's Choice award and the Best Production award. Director Chris Baldock won Best Director, and actor Nick Steain won Best Actor.

Chris has returned to Melbourne to work his... read more

The program for Short+Sweet Theatre Canberra 2016 is now available:


Top 20 Week 1 


The Ice Age  written by Sue Clennell  directed by Erin Foote

Featuring: Kate Rankine and Dairinn Bannister

What time is it? Is it time for him to come? An innocent conversation turns into a  violent and alarming one. It... read more

The shortlist for Short+Sweet Theatre Canberra 2016 can now be announced!

Directors have made their selections, and we can now congratulate the fantastic playwrights whose scripts made it onto this year's shortlist. The calibre of plays was excellent, and it was great to see such great writing coming in from Canberra, the Capital Region and all over the world. 

The program for... read more

If you're planning to be part of Short+Sweet Canberra 2016, you can add all the events to your Google Calendar very easily!

The only link you need is: https://calendar.google.com/calendar/embed?src=7ctv9pp6rdbnfc1r2o1m3d4rt...

... read more

This festival doesn't have any active submission

Festival Structure

  1. Festival Structure

    Short+Sweet Theatre Canberra runs for two weeks at the Canberra Theatre Centre. Between 40 and 50 ten minute plays are shortlisted by the Festival Director, and Directors select from the shortlist to curate the festival. Short+Sweet Theatre Canberra has three components:


    Top 20

    The Top 20 is a showcase of the best works in the festival. These plays are presented in groups of 10, specifically Top 20 Week 1, and Top 20 Week 2. A position in the main season is often given to the more experienced Directors and stronger ITCs, though a director with less experience may be scheduled in this season as an opportunity to up skill if the Festival Director deems their work at a high enough standard.

    At the conclusion of each Top 20 week, the top 2 judges’ choices and the top 2 people’s choices are announced and entered into the Gala Final.



    Wildcards are – unofficially – the side season of a Short+Sweet festival. Wildcards plays are performed twice on the Saturday in the middle of the festival. A position in the Wildcards is offered to plays that present a more niche interest or a higher level of risk than those in the Top 20.

    The Wildcards can be seen as a developmental opportunity for Directors and Writers. Often the quality of Wildcards plays will be comparable to main season plays. They tend to attract large and enthusiastic audiences.

    The biggest difference technically is that Wildcards plays are not allowed any lighting changes. There is no time in the schedule to allow programming of the lighting board.

    At the conclusion of the Wildcards performances, the judges’ and people’s top choices are announced and entered into the Gala Final.


    Gala Final

    The Gala Final is a showcase of the best works from your festival. Each of the Top 20 weeks’ programs will contribute 4 plays, and the Wildcards will contribute 2 more plays. The Festival Director may also choose to add an eleventh play.

    Technically, Gala Finals productions and main season productions are the same. There is no time to make any changes to lighting or other aspects of your play, as there is only a technical rehearsal.

    At the conclusion of the Gala Final, judges cast their votes for Best Play, Best Actor, Best Director and Best Script, and the audience cast their votes for their favourite two plays.